24H du Mans

Toyota/Michelin tastes Le Mans glory at last!

Toyota will be partying hard tonight after winning the famous Le Mans 24 Hours for the first time since its debut attempt at the world famous race in 1985. This time around, Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and the team’s star recruit Fernando Alonso delivered the necessary speed and reliability in their N°8 TS050-Hybrid/Michelin to spearhead a one-two finish for the Japanese carmaker, ahead of the N°7 sister car (+2 laps). Porsche/Michelin celebrated no-nonsense wins in LM GTE Pro and Am, while G-Drive Racing was unassailable in LMP2 with the N°26 Oreca07. True to its ‘Winning performance to the line’ claim, Michelin secured its 21st straight Le Mans success.

24H du Mans

H-7: Toyota still on target for Le Mans glory

The two Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050-Hybrids are running smoothly at the top of the order at Le Mans after 17 hours, with the N°8 car of Alonso/Buemi/Nakajima currently in front. The Japanese team has been running a quadruple stint strategy since the start. Porsche GT Team/Michelin’s N°92 and N°91 911 RSRs continue to set the pace in LM GTE Pro, and the German make leads the Am class, too. The N°26 G-Drive Oreca07 continues to stand out as the car to beat in LMP2. 

24H du Mans

1978 LE MANS 24 HOURS: Renault triumphs at Le Mans with Michelin radial technology

It was this week forty years ago, on June 11, 1978, that Michelin and Renault-Alpine’s Pironi/Jaussaud put radial technology on the top step of the podium at Le Mans for the first time in the race’s history.

After suffereing a cruel defeat at the hands of Porsche at the previous year’s Le Mans 24 Hours, Renault-Alpine and its tyre partner Michelin were intent on eking revenge in 1978.

To prepare, they clocked up some 30,000 kilometres in testing to cure the reliability issues that had plagued the Renault-Alpine A442 in 1977, and four Michelin-equipped prototypes were eventually entered for the 46th running of the great endurance classic: a A443 (for Jabouille/Depailler), a A442a (Jarier/Bell), a A442b (Pironi/Jaussaud) and a A442 (Ragnotti/Fréquelin/Dolhem).


Having won the very first Le Mans 24 Hours in 1923, Michelin had made its comeback in 1965. Two years later, an Alpine A210 contested the race on radial slicks and it was this technology that was chosen for Renault-Alpine’s visit to La Sarthe in 1978, a year after its first employment in Formula 1.

Jabouille, who had qualified in second place, soon emerged in front and – by the end of Lap 3 – the French prototypes were running first, second and third after the Porsches had hit technical trouble. During the early hours of the night, though, Bell was forced to park up his A442a with a transmission problem.

At sunrise, the order was topped by Depailler in the Alpine A443/Michelin but his engine failed shortly afterwards, at 10am, handing control to the A442b of Pironi/Jaussaud. By this point, the clutch of the latter’s car was showing signs of weakness and Pironi was forced to remain at the wheel for the last two stints.


After covering a total race distance of more than 5,000km (a new record), Renault-Alpine and Michelin survived to pop the champagne on Sunday afternoon before focusing their attention on Formula 1. Their first grand prix victory followed in 1979, but Michelin would have to wait more than a decade for the third of its 26 Le Mans victories to date .


One-two joy for Toyota/Michelin in Turkey

The 2018 Rally Turkey saw Michelin LTX Force-equipped Toyota Yaris WRCs come first and second in the hands of winner Ott Tänak and Jari-Matti Latvala. Hyundai/Michelin’s Hayden Paddon completed the season’s roughest fixture in third spot. Michelin runners also monopolised the WRC2 podium.


Rally Turkey - Racecard

All you need to know about the Rally Turkey.Clic on the photo to download the racecard


MotoGP™: Dovizioso (Ducati Team / Michelin) takes home spoils at Misano

The GP Octo di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini, Round 13 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship, saw Andrea Dovizioso claim his 11th premier class win. The Ducati Team / Michelin rider was joined on the podium by Marc Márquez (2nd, Repsol Honda Team / Michelin) and Cal Crutchlow (3rd, LCR Honda / Michelin).


MotoGP™ - Gran Premio Octo di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini - Racecard

All you need to know about the Gran Premio Octo di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini.Click on the photo to download the racecard.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development