Volkswagen and Michelin establish new Pikes Peak record!

After collecting four WRC Manufacturers’ titles together, Volkswagen and Michelin returned to their winning ways on Sunday with victory at the celebrated Pikes Peak International Hill Climb in Colorado, USA. Frenchman Romain Dumas posted a new record for the course in the German make’s exciting I.D R full-electric prototype.

Michelin back on top at the Nürburgring

Michelin took the top prize at last weekend’s Nürburgring 24 Hours in tandem with the Manthey Racing-run Porsche 911 GT3-R of Richard Lietz, Frédéric Makowiecki, Patrick Pilet and Nick Tandy. Two Black Falcon Mercedes AMG GT3s made it an all-Michelin podium. 

2018 Dakar: ‘Win 35’ for Michelin on two wheels

The first Dakar win of KTM Factory Team/Michelin’s Matthias Walkner chalked up Michelin’s 35th success since the famous cross-country rally’s creation.

This year’s route from Lima, Peru, to Cordoba, Argentina, totalled some 9,000 kilometres, with more than half that distance against the clock over a punishing cocktail of sand dunes, dusty tracks, rocky trails, mud, altitudes of close to 4,000 metres and one two-day marathon stage. The frequently difficult weather led to the cancellation of two legs.

Despite the challenging conditions, this menu didn’t prevent Austria’s Matthias Walkner from claiming his first Dakar victory at fourth attempt after coming second overall in 2017.

The battle on two wheels proved exceptionally close and, at the mid-rally rest day in La Paz, Bolivia, the top ten was blanketed by just half-an-hour after six stages.

Walkner took command thanks to some on-the-button navigation that saw him complete the Fiambala stage (Leg 10) with a handsome lead over his rivals. “It’s completely crazy,” he said at the finish. “My aim was to finish on the podium. It was very close, but Stage 10 turned out to be decisive. It’s a dream come true and it was an amazing Dakar. The level was very high and there were as many as six of us in contention, but I was the luckiest. Sometimes it takes luck to win, sometimes it doesn’t. This year, it went my way.”

The result prolongs KTM/Michelin’s domination of the event that has lasted since 2001.

The 2017 victor Sam Sunderland (KTM/Michelin) was forced out by a fall on Day 4.

The fastest time on the ultimate stage allowed Argentina’s Kevin Benavides (Monster Energy Honda/Michelin) to clinch second place, while the event’s 2016 winner Toby Price (KTM Factory Team/Michelin) made it an all-Michelin podium.


MotoGP: Lorenzo claims Red Bull Ring spoils for Ducati/Michelin

The Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich – Round 11 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship – saw Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team/Michelin) emerge on top after a tremendous scrap with Marc Marquez (2nd, Repsol Honda Team/Michelin) to collect his third victory of the season at Austria’s Red Bull Ring. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin) was third.


MotoGP™ : eyetime Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich - Racecard

All you need to know about the eyetime Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich with our racecard.Click on the photo to download it.


MotoGP™: Dovizioso heads Ducati Team/Michelin 1-2 finish at Brno

The Monster Energy Grand Prix České Republiky, Round 10 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship, was won by Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin). The pole-winner was joined on the podium at Brno, Czech Republic, by team-mate Jorge Lorenzo and the championship pace-setter Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team/Michelin). 


MotoGP™: Monster Energy Grand Prix České republiky - Racecard

All you need to know about the Monster Energy Grand Prix České republikyClic on the photo to donwload the racecard

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development