FIA Formula E

Da Costa and DS Techeetah secure Formula E’s 2019/2020 titles with Michelin*

A one-two finish today for DS E-TENSE FE 20/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne and Antonio Felix Da Costa in the 2019/2020 FIA Formula E Championship’s fourth round in Berlin, Germany, saw DS Techeetah and Da Costa seal the Constructors’ and Drivers’ titles respectively.

FIA Formula E

Da Costa strikes twice in Berlin for DS Techeetah/Michelin

Victory for Antonio Felix da Costa in this season’s first two Berlin E-Prix at the wheel of his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped DS E-TENSE FE20 has taken the Portuguese driver further clear at the top of the provisional Drivers’ standings. Four more races are scheduled to take place at the German capital’s former Tempelhof Airport between now and August 13 to wrap up the 2019/2020 FIA Formula E Championship.

FIA Formula E

A Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin one-two wraps up 2019/2020 Formula E campaign

Formula E’s Season 6 concluded with a 69th win for the championship’s founding partner Michelin. The last of six races in Berlin saw Stoffel Vandoorne head a Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin one-two after Antonio Felix da Costa and DS Techeetah had secured the all-electric series’ Drivers’ and Constructors’ crowns with two rounds remaining.

Michelin Motorsport’s technical squad rose successfully to the logistical challenge posed by the organisation of six back-to-back races at Berlin’s former Tempelhof Airport as the Michelin Pilot Sport delivered yet another display of its consistency at Formula E’s most abrasive venue.

“The bill in Berlin featured six Formula E e-prix and seven rounds of the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy,” explains Jérôme Mondain, the manager of Michelin Motorsport’s Formula E programme. “As a result, our six fitters had the task of fitting, balancing and removing some 1,300 tyres, including 864 Michelin Track Connect-equipped Michelin Pilot Sports for the Formula E races alone, a job that involved individually matching each tyre and sensor to the 24 drivers.”

The last two e-prix of the season – which used a different circuit layout to the first four – produced a maiden Formula E win for Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) on Wednesday, August 12, while ex-F1 driver Stoffel Vandoorne headed Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin’s first one-two in the series the following day to claim his first victory.

da costa

The Belgian’s result earned him second place behind Da Costa in the final 2019/2020 standings, a point clear of the outgoing champ Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin), while Nissan e.dams cinched runner-up honours in the Constructors’ table, behind DS Techeetah and ahead of Mercedes-Benz EQ.


The 2019/2020 Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy was won by New Zealander Simon Evans.

“It’s been a very positive sixth year in Formula E for Michelin,” observes Jérôme Mondain. “The Michelin Pilot Sport proved competitive and consistent across a wide variety of conditions at the different circuits visited in the course of the 2019/2020 championship. Its versatility was especially evident in Berlin where the drivers posted the same lap times during a shower as they did in the dry. The Michelin Track Connect – which marks a first in international motor racing – harvested valuable real-time data which, after analysis, allowed us to run lower tyre pressures during the last four races and consequently provide the drivers with both superior performance and even greater consistency.”

ABB FIA Formula E action will resume when Season 7 gets under way next January in Santiago, Chile.

Berlin E-Prix 5 – Final positions:

1. Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams), 36 laps

2. Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing), +1.903s

3. René Rast (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), +7.490s

4. André Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche FE Team), +7.863s

5. Alex Lynn (Mahindra Racing), +11.441s


Berlin E-Prix 6 – Final positions:

1. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ FE Team), 36 laps

2. Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-Benz EQ FE Team), +1.340s

3. Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams), +2.841s

4. René Rast (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), +3.580s

5. Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing), +8.710s



Michelin wins WRC’s 600th round with Tänak and Hyundai

Reigning world champion Ott Tänak steered his Michelin LTX Force-equipped Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC to victory on home soil at Rally Estonia on Sunday. Irishman Craig Breen made it a one-two finish for Hyundai, while Sébastien Ogier (Toyota) rounded out the weekend’s all-Michelin top-three.


MotoGP: Oliveira wins bike racing’s 900th GP!

A dramatic last lap at Austria’s Red Bull Ring saw Miguel Oliveira clinch the first MotoGPTM win of his career, plus that of his team Red Bull KTM Tech 3. The Portuguese rider was joined on the podium of the BMW M Grand Prix of Styria (Round 6 of the 2020 MotoGPTM World Championship) by Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Racing). Premier class motorcycle racing’s 900th clash produced Michelin’s 438th grand prix victory, while Oliveira is the fourth different rider to have won a race this season and the 53rd to have taken the spoils on Michelin rubber. 


MotoGP™: Ducati extends unbeaten Red Bull Ring record

The myWorld Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich – which was interrupted due to a spectacular crash involving Johann Zarco (Esponsorama Racing) and Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) – was won by Andrea Dovizioso. The Ducati Team rider was joined on the podium of the 2020 MotoGPTM World Championship’s fifth round by Joan Mir (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) and Jack Miller (Pramac Racing). The top-three finishers at Austria’s Red Bull Ring all ran different tyre pairings to provide further evidence of the MICHELIN Power Slick’s versatility.  


Toyota and Michelin finish 1st and 2nd at Spa-Francorchamps

The 2020 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps saw the two Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids come first and second in Belgium in the hands of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez (N°7) and Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley (N°8). Showery weather made getting tyre strategies spot-on particularly vital but also highlighted the quality of the range provided by Michelin for the return of FIA WEC action.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup