FIA Formula E

Venturi and Mercedes take Berlin wins with Michelin

The weekend’s two Berlin E-Prix were won by Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) and Nyck de Vries (Mercedes EQ Formula E Team) respectively. Belgium’s Stoffel Vandoorne and Mercedes top the Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ standings at the season’s mid-point.

FIA Formula E

Mercedes/Michelin triumphs in Monaco

Belgium’s Stoffel Vandoorne steered his Michelin Pilot Sport EV-equipped Mercedes EQ Silver Arrow to victory at the Monaco E-Prix, ahead of pole-winner Mitch Evans (Jaguar/Michelin) and two-time Formula E champion Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin).

FIA Formula E

A second covers Jakarta top-three!

The first-ever Jakarta E-Prix’s podium finishers Mitch Evans, Jean-Eric Vergne and Edoardo Mortara representing three different MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV-equipped constructors (Jaguar, DS and Venturi) were split by less than a second at the checkered flag in Indonesia!

Indonesia’s round of the 2022 Formula E World Championship – the first FIA-sanctioned event to be hosted by the country in 16 years – lived every bit up to its promise.

For the 10th clash of the season, the teams faced the challenge of a new, purpose-designed, 2.370-kilometer circuit in Ancol Beach City. Its recently-laid asphalt provided good grip that allowed the drivers to push all the way to the flag on their MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tires in spite of the heat (33°C) and high humidity levels (70%).

“All the drivers praised the consistency and longevity of our tires today,” reports Mirko Pirracchio, the manager of Michelin Motorsport’s Formula E program. “We hadn’t been expecting the track surface to be so abrasive and the fact that the drivers were authorized to use just two sets in total meant we had to pay close attention to the weather and its influence on the teams’ respective strategies.”

The race produced a splendid scrap at the sharp end, with Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), Vergne (DS Techeetah) and Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) trading the lead as a function of their respective Attack Mode periods.

The Jaguar driver managed to find a way past his DS Techeetah rival on Lap 32 and then held firm after a late Safety-Car interruption to claim his third victory of the campaign. Vergne had earlier earned his 15th start from pole-position in Formula E but had to settle for second spot in the race. He ended up just 0.733s behind the day’s winner, but only 0.234s safe from Mortara.

Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah) and Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes AQ FE Team) followed in fourth and fifth places.

Vandoorne continues to top the provisional Drivers’ standings after the trip to southeast Asia but the top-four is now blanketed by a mere 12 points. The next round of the championship will take teams to Africa for the Marrakesh E-Prix in Morocco on July 2.

Jakarta E-Prix – Final positions:

  1. Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), 40 laps
  2. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), +0.733s
  3. Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing), +0.967s
  4. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), +3.350s
  5. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team), +4.038s


Michelin wins the 2022 Nürburgring 24 Hours with Audi

Thirty years after its maiden victory in the German endurance racing classic, Michelin topped the order at the 50th edition of the Nürburgring 24 Hours with the N°15 Audi Sport Team Phoenix R8 LMS crewed by Robin Frijns, Dries Vanthoor, Frédéric Vervisch and Kelvin Van der Linde. The race permits open competition between tire manufacturers, but Michelin was chosen to equip no fewer than 73 of this year’s starters. It went on to monopolize the final top three, with GetSpeed Mercedes-AMG GT3s sharing the other two podium places. The closing stages were marked by unsettled weather but the MICHELIN Pilot Sport range provided yet more evidence of its versatility, consistency and efficiency around the venue’s infamous 25-kilometer Nordschleife, in front of 230,000 spectators! 


MotoGP™: Bagnaia takes home win as Michelin’s range covers all the weekend’s conditions

The Gran Premio d’Italia Oakley (Round 8 of the 2022 MotoGPTM World Championship) was won by home star Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team), ahead of defending champion Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP). Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing) came third to make it three different bikemakers on the podium, while two different tire combinations finished in the top-three to provide a further demonstration of the MICHELIN Power range’s exceptional versatility.  

The H24 prototype makes race debut in Italy with Michelin

The electric hydrogen-fueled H24 prototype took part in a race for the first time at Imola, Italy, on Saturday, May 14. Through its subsidiaries Symbio and Michelin, Groupe Michelin is a partner of this exciting project which seeks to see fuel-cell cars compete in the Le Mans 24 Hours on sustainable tires in the near future.


MotoGP™: Bastianini wins in France as Michelin helps more records to tumble

The Shark Grand Prix de France (Round 7 of the 2022 World Championship) saw Michelin’s MotoGPTM tires contribute to new track-lap, fastest race-lap and shortest race-duration records for Le Mans-Bugatti. In front of more than 110,000 spectators (another record!), Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing) reveled in the splendid weather to pick up his third victory of the year, ahead of Jack Miller (Ducati Lenovo Team) and Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing).  

More about Michelin Motorsport

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup