Thierry Neuville takes Portugal win

After his success in snowy Sweden in February, Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) was first past the post again at the end of the weekend’s Rally de Portugal. The Belgian, who has gone to the top of the provisional 2018 Drivers’ standings, was joined on the podium by Ford M-Sport/Michelin’s Elfyn Evans and Teemu Suninen.


FIA WRC - Vodafone Rally de Portugal - Racecard (EN)

All you need to know about the Rally de Portugal with our racecard.Click on the photo to download it.


First Germany triumph for Ford/Michelin

Ott Tanak collected the second win of his WRC career and earned Ford/M-Sport’s maiden ADAC Rallye Deutschland victory today in Germany. Third place behind Andreas Mikkelsen (Citroën/Michelin) enabled Sébastien Ogier (Ford/Michelin) to recover the Drivers’ championship lead from Thierry Neuville. Pontus Tidemand (Skoda/Michelin) is the 2017 WRC2 world champion.

After securing his first world class win on dirt earlier this summer in Sardinia, Ott Tanak was back on the top step of the podium today after the all-asphalt Rallye Deutschland.

The M-Sport driver laid the foundations for his success when he chose Michelin’s FW3 ‘full wet’ tyre for Friday afternoon’s downpour in the Mosel Valley vineyards. This rain tyre has been available since 2016, but it was the first time it had been used competitively and it helped the Estonian youngster to complete Leg 1 in front, tailed by Andreas Mikkelsen (Citroën/Michelin) who had opted for the same choice.

Tanak went on to defend top spot on Saturday and Sunday – which both enjoyed milder weather, despite threatening clouds – as the rally switched to the Baumholder army ranges and Germany’s Saarland region.

He was joined on the final podium by team-mate Ogier (3rd) who has reappeared at the top of the provisional Drivers’ standings with three rounds remaining, 17 points clear of Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) who was delayed by suspension damage on Saturday.

Andreas Mikkelsen bagged an excellent second place on only his third outing in a C3 WRC/Michelin, but it was another nightmare outing for fellow Citroën driver Kris Meeke who was eliminated from contention when he clipped a kerb on Thursday evening’s SS1 (Saarbrücken super-special).

It wasn’t an easy week for Hyundai Motorsport, either. In addition to Neuville’s woes, Dani Sordo crashed on Leg 1 and M-Sport – which was chasing its first ever Rallye Deutschland victory – has appreciably extended its lead in the Manufacturers’ title chase.

There was an interesting fight until the end for the other top places between Juho Hanninen (Toyota/Michelin), Craig Breen (Citroën/Michelin) and Elfyn Evans (Ford) who came fourth, fifth and sixth respectively. Jari-Matti Latvala (Toyota/Michelin) was delayed by an engine misfire on Day 1 and had to settle for seventh overall.

Sweden’s Pontus Tidemand and Skoda Motorsport/Michelin sealed this year’s WRC2 crowns, although the class was topped in Germany by Frenchman Eric Camilli (Ford Fiesta R5/Michelin). Early leader Jan Kopecky (Skoda Fabia R5/Michelin) from the Czech Republic was second.


MotoGP: Marc Márquez takes Le Mans spoils

The winner of Sunday’s HJC Helmets Grand Prix de France (Round 5 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship) at Le Mans-Bugatti was Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team). Danilo Petrucci (Alma Pramac Racing) and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) were second and third.

FIA Formula E

One-two glory for Audi/Michelin in Berlin

Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler marched to a one-two triumph on home soil thanks to Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi. Third place for Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah) has taken the Frenchman even further clear at the top of the Drivers’ points table with only three more races to come.


ABB Formula E - Berlin E-Prix - Racecard (EN)

All you need to know about the Berlin E-Prix with our racecard.Click on the photo to download it.


MotoGP - HJC Helmets Grand Prix de France - Racecard

All you need to know about the Grand prix de France with our racecard.Click on the photo to download it.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development