24H du Mans

Toyota/Michelin tastes Le Mans glory at last!

Toyota will be partying hard tonight after winning the famous Le Mans 24 Hours for the first time since its debut attempt at the world famous race in 1985. This time around, Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and the team’s star recruit Fernando Alonso delivered the necessary speed and reliability in their N°8 TS050-Hybrid/Michelin to spearhead a one-two finish for the Japanese carmaker, ahead of the N°7 sister car (+2 laps). Porsche/Michelin celebrated no-nonsense wins in LM GTE Pro and Am, while G-Drive Racing was unassailable in LMP2 with the N°26 Oreca07. True to its ‘Winning performance to the line’ claim, Michelin secured its 21st straight Le Mans success.

24H du Mans

H-7: Toyota still on target for Le Mans glory

The two Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050-Hybrids are running smoothly at the top of the order at Le Mans after 17 hours, with the N°8 car of Alonso/Buemi/Nakajima currently in front. The Japanese team has been running a quadruple stint strategy since the start. Porsche GT Team/Michelin’s N°92 and N°91 911 RSRs continue to set the pace in LM GTE Pro, and the German make leads the Am class, too. The N°26 G-Drive Oreca07 continues to stand out as the car to beat in LMP2. 

24H du Mans

Le Mans 24 Hours: promising free practice

The 2018 Le Mans 24 Hours action kicked off with this evening’s four-hour free practice session which ended with Toyota Gazoo Racing at the top the order with its two Michelin-equipped TS050-Hybrids. The afternoon’s fastest time was the work of last year’s pole-setter Kamui Kobayashi (N°7, 3m18.718s) who was 0.557s quicker than Buemi in the N°8 car.

Anybody who believes the Japanese team has no competition this year at Le Mans should take a close look at the provisional gaps, though, since three non-hybrid LMP1 prototypes representing three different teams (Rebellion, Dragonspeed and SMP Racing) lapped within two-and-a-half seconds of Kobayashi.
Porsche/Michelin set the pace in both LM GTE Pro and Am, monopolising the top three places of the Pro classification with its N°93, N°92 and N°91 cars, while the N°88 and N°86 911 RSRs were first and second in Am.

G-Drive Racing’s Jean-Eric Vergne (N°26) toppled the N°38 Idec Sport/Michelin prototype from the LMP2 lead with a quarter-of-an-hour of the session remaining.

Conditions were bright and sunny throughout, with the track and air temperatures standing at 27°C and 21°C at the start of the session. Weather forecasters are predicting rain for Thursday evening, however, so fireworks can be expected during tonight’s Q1 (start: 10pm local time) as teams scrap for the best overnight time which could well turn out to be the pole-winning effort. Last year, Kamui Kobayashi earned first place on the grid for Toyota in Wednesday’s qualifying session thanks to a new lap record of 3m14.791s. For the moment, we are practically four seconds short of that benchmark.

FIA Formula E

BMW/Michelin claims maiden Formula E success

Round 1 of the 2018/2019 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, was won by Antonio Felix da Costa. The Portuguese BMW i Andretti Motorsport driver was joined on the podium by Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) and Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Mahindra Racing/Michelin).

FIA Formula E

ABB Formula E - Ad Diriyah ePrix - Racecard

All you need to kown about the Ad Diriyah ePrix with our racecard.Clic on the photo to download it. 

FIA World Council decisions

A number of key decisions were taken at the FIA World Council meeting that was held in Saint Petersburg, Russia, on December 5. Many of them referred to some of the global championships in which Michelin is active, namely the WEC, WRC and Formula E.


MotoGP™: Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin) triumphs in Valencia

After claiming the season’s opener in Qatar, Andrea Dovizioso concluded the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship with victory in Valencia. The Italian was unfazed when the race was red flagged due to heavy rain and he went on to finish clear of Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR/Michelin) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing/Michelin).   

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018