Sweden revenge for ice-cool Neuville

After cruelly missing out on last year’s Rally Sweden win, Thierry Neuville (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC/Michelin) bounced back this week to win the 66th running of the winter classic, ahead of Craig Breen (Citroën C3 WRC/Michelin) and team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen. World champion Sébastien Ogier (Ford Fiesta RS WRC/Michelin) was penalised by his running order and could manage no better than 10th at the flag.


Sixth Monte Carlo win for Ogier

Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia (Ford/Michelin) led the 2018 Rallye Monte-Carlo from start to finish to collect their fifth straight win in the Principality since 2013. Toyota/Michelin drivers Ott Tanak and Jari-Matti Latvala joined the French pair on the podium.


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 

A perfectly paced victory on Round 11 of the 2017 FIA World Rally Championship will clearly have done Kris Meeke’s recently jaded confidence a world of good.

Leg 1 saw the Ulsterman put his recent difficult run behind him to bag provisional third at the end of the mixed-surface event’s day of gravel action.

The leader at this point, however, was none other than Andrea Mikkelsen. Hyundai/Michelin’s new signing led second-placed Ogier by 1.4 seconds at Friday evening’s service where teams were allocated an extra 30 minutes to convert their respective cars from gravel to asphalt trim for the remainder of the weekend.

Sébastien Ogier had been widely expected to take control at this point, but it was Meeke who stole the show instead. A surefooted display on the sealed-surface part of the event took him almost half-a-minute clear at the finish where he was understandably relieved to be back on the top step of the podium after a win-less spell that dated back to March’s Rally Mexico.

After the switch to asphalt, Mikkelsen failed to match his earlier pace and fell back several places, while Ogier – hard-pressed by Sordo (Hyundai/Michelin) and Tanak – admitted that he believed Meeke was uncatchable as his thoughts turned maximising his title chances with a strong points finish.

His hopes of securing a fifth straight Drivers’ crown were boosted when chief rival Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) was delayed by a hydraulic issue and an accident on a road section on Saturday. The Belgian was then forced out for good after suffering further suspension damage on Sunday morning.

Ogier sits 37 points clear at the top of the provisional standings and his closest threat is now his own team-mate Ott Tanak whose third place in Catalunya has more or less handed the 2017 Manufacturers’ crown to M-Sport WRT/Michelin. The British outfit is only four points short of sealing the outcome and essentially needs to get both its cars to finish at the next round (Wales Rally GB) to claim its first title since 2007.

Juho Hanninen salvaged fourth place after a poor weekend for Toyota which lost Latvala on Friday (engine), then Lappi (accident) on the last day. Hyundai’s Dani Sordo was typically quick on home soil but an ‘off’ on Sunday dropped him to 15th at the flag, although he did recover to post the best time on the weekend’s Power Stage.

There was yet another all-Michelin top three in the WRC2 battle which was won this time by Teemu Suninen (Ford), ahead of Jan Kopecky (Skoda) and Mexico’s Benito Guerra (Skoda).


Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E: Michelin reveals the new MICHELIN Pilot Sport

The 2018 Geneva Motor Show has seen Michelin reveal the new MICHELIN Pilot Sport that will equip the latest-generation FIA ABB Formula E Championship all-electric cars when Season 5 (2018/2019) gets going at the end of the year. 

FIA Formula E

Daniel Abt claims maiden Formula E success

Daniel Abt (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler/Michelin) notched up the first Formula E victory of his career at Saturday’s Mexico City E-Prix. The German was joined on the podium by Oliver Turvey (2nd, NextEv NIO Sport/Michelin) and Sébastien Buemi (3rd, Renault e.dams/Michelin). 


MotoGP: Michelin® to partner the 2018 Australian Grand Prix

For the third year running, Michelin will be the title sponsor of the Australian Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship. The Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix at Phillip Island (October 26-28) promises to be one of the most spectacular races of the season.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development