24H du Mans

Toyota/Michelin tastes Le Mans glory at last!

Toyota will be partying hard tonight after winning the famous Le Mans 24 Hours for the first time since its debut attempt at the world famous race in 1985. This time around, Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and the team’s star recruit Fernando Alonso delivered the necessary speed and reliability in their N°8 TS050-Hybrid/Michelin to spearhead a one-two finish for the Japanese carmaker, ahead of the N°7 sister car (+2 laps). Porsche/Michelin celebrated no-nonsense wins in LM GTE Pro and Am, while G-Drive Racing was unassailable in LMP2 with the N°26 Oreca07. True to its ‘Winning performance to the line’ claim, Michelin secured its 21st straight Le Mans success.

24H du Mans

H-7: Toyota still on target for Le Mans glory

The two Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050-Hybrids are running smoothly at the top of the order at Le Mans after 17 hours, with the N°8 car of Alonso/Buemi/Nakajima currently in front. The Japanese team has been running a quadruple stint strategy since the start. Porsche GT Team/Michelin’s N°92 and N°91 911 RSRs continue to set the pace in LM GTE Pro, and the German make leads the Am class, too. The N°26 G-Drive Oreca07 continues to stand out as the car to beat in LMP2. 

24H du Mans

Michelin targeting a 21st Le Mans victory

The ACO (Automobile Club de l’Ouest) has published the list of the 60 competitors it has invited to contest this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours. Michelin, which is unbeaten in the French endurance classic since 1998, is targeting a 21st consecutive victory this time around, and its 27th in total since the race was first organised in 1923.

Even in the absence of Audi and Porsche, who have monopolised the last eight Le Mans victories between them, this year’s mouth-watering LM P1 entry features no fewer than 10 prototypes, all of which will be running on Michelin rubber.

Toyota Gazoo Racing, whose bid to secure Le Mans glory for the first time will be spearheaded by two TS 050 Hybrids, will face competition from five teams who have entered non-hybrid LM P1 cars in an attempt to steal the limelight from the Japanese make. Their ranks include such illustrious names as Oreca, Gibson, Nismo and Mecachrome, along with drivers of the calibre of André Lotterer and Mickhail Aleshin.

The LM GTE Pro field will be represented by six different carmakers and 17 cars, all on Michelin tyres. Ford and Porsche will have four cars apiece, while Ferrari will have three AF Corse-run 488 GTEs. BMW is making its return to La Sarthe with a pair of new M8s, Aston Martin Racing will have two latest-generation Vantages and the list is rounded out by Corvette’s brace of C7.Rs.

Meanwhile, Michelin faces fierce competition in the LM P2 and LM GTE Am classes which boast 20 and 13 cars respectively. The Ligier JSP217s run by Paniz-Barthez Compétition, IDEC Sport and Larbre Compétition will race on Michelin tyres and the French firm will also supply a number of LM GTE Am contenders (Ferrari 488 GTE, Porsche 911 RSR, Aston Martin Vantage).

The list of entries for the 2018/2019 FIA World Endurance Championship Super Season has been revealed, too, and the field of 36 cars is the biggest since the WEC’s creation in 2012. Michelin will be active in the LM P1 and LM GTE Pro classes.

The 2018/2019 is due to kick off in Belgium on May 5 with the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, the calendar’s only round ahead of the discipline’s showpiece at Le Mans on June 16-17.

FIA Formula E

BMW/Michelin claims maiden Formula E success

Round 1 of the 2018/2019 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, was won by Antonio Felix da Costa. The Portuguese BMW i Andretti Motorsport driver was joined on the podium by Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) and Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Mahindra Racing/Michelin).

FIA Formula E

ABB Formula E - Ad Diriyah ePrix - Racecard

All you need to kown about the Ad Diriyah ePrix with our racecard.Clic on the photo to download it. 

FIA World Council decisions

A number of key decisions were taken at the FIA World Council meeting that was held in Saint Petersburg, Russia, on December 5. Many of them referred to some of the global championships in which Michelin is active, namely the WEC, WRC and Formula E.


MotoGP™: Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin) triumphs in Valencia

After claiming the season’s opener in Qatar, Andrea Dovizioso concluded the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship with victory in Valencia. The Italian was unfazed when the race was red flagged due to heavy rain and he went on to finish clear of Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR/Michelin) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing/Michelin).   

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018