FIA WRC - Rallye Monte-Carlo - Racecard

The 2020 FIA World Rally Championship gets underway with one of the most iconic and demanding events for the tyres, Rallye Monte-Carlo. Click on the photo to download our racecard!


Museum honours for motorsport’s 2019 champs!

In association with Michelin, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) held its annual prizegiving gala at the famous Louvre Museum in Paris, France, on Friday, December 6. Many of the champions who were presented trophies won their respective titles on Michelin rubber.


Monte Carlo 1966: Citroën and Michelin win another ‘duel of ’66’…

James Mangold’s film ‘Le Mans 1966’ starring Matt Damon et Christian Bale relates how Ford succeeded in thwarting mighty Ferrari at Le Mans. Earlier the same year, Citroën and Michelin finished on top after a thrilling duel on another legendary event – the Rallye Monte-Carlo.

Michelin wasn’t involved in the 1966 Le Mans 24 Hours. Having won the race’s inaugural edition in 1923, it only returned in 1967 when it equipped a factory Alpine A210 prototype with radial slicks.

In January 1966, however, its tyres took a surprise win in the battle that opposed Ford and Mini on that year’s Monte Carlo Rally… when the eventual victor in the wintry French Alps was Citroën!


Prior to the start, the car to beat was clearly the Mini Cooper S, the agility and reliability of which had enabled BMC to claim the 1964 and 1965 wins with Paddy Hopkirk and Timo Mäkinen respectively. Mäkinen, Hopkirk and Rauno Aaltonen were consequently favourites to triumph again in 1966, despite opposition from Ford Lotus Cortina rivals Vic Elford, Roger Clark and Bo Ljungfeldt.


The fight between the two teams was merciless, but the Minis emerged from the final night and the Col de Turini to monopolise the top three places, with Mäkinen, Aaltonen and Hopkirk finishing clear of fourth-placed Clark. However, all these drivers were disqualified after the finish when the iodine-vapour headlamp bulbs of their cars were deemed to contravene French traffic regulations.

As a result, the top prize ended up going to the Citroën DS 21/Michelin of Finn Pauli Toivonen – who had suffered an early delay due to a bent suspension arm – ahead of two Lancia Flavias.

The Citroën DS 21s competed on Michelin 165 R 400 X radial tyres for dry and wet ground, switching to studded Michelin Xs when the conditions turned snowy. Both types were freely available for sale over the counter, since Michelin’s competitions department was only founded in 1973.

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Santiago glory for Max Günther

The 2020 Santiago E-Prix in Chile saw Maximilian Gunther score his maiden Formula E victory at the wheel of his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped BMW iFE.20.

Michelin’s decade of innovation and success in motorsport

In the course of the past 10 years, Michelin’s increasingly sophisticated, energy-efficient, consistent and, now, connected tyres collected more than 300 world-class victories in disciplines as varied as MotoGP, endurance racing, rallying and Formula E. 


Toyota/Michelin claim 1st and 2nd places in Bahrain

Toyota Gazoo Racing dominated the last FIA WEC race of the year to collect first and second places in Bahrain with the N°7 (Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez) and N°8 (Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley) Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids. The French tyre firm topped the order in the other three classes, too, with the N°22 United Autosports Oreca-Gibson (LMP2), N°95 Aston Martin (LMGTE Pro) and N°57 Porsche (LMGTE Am).


Twenty-nine champions for FIA endurance racing Hall of Fame

After creating Halls of Fame for its Formula 1 and Rally World Championships, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has now added an endurance racing section at its Paris headquarters. Twenty-nine champions were inducted at a special ceremony on Monday evening (December 2). It was organised in association with Michelin, a long-time major player in the discipline.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup