FIA Formula E

A second covers Jakarta top-three!

The first-ever Jakarta E-Prix’s podium finishers Mitch Evans, Jean-Eric Vergne and Edoardo Mortara representing three different MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV-equipped constructors (Jaguar, DS and Venturi) were split by less than a second at the checkered flag in Indonesia!

FIA Formula E

Venturi and Mercedes take Berlin wins with Michelin

The weekend’s two Berlin E-Prix were won by Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) and Nyck de Vries (Mercedes EQ Formula E Team) respectively. Belgium’s Stoffel Vandoorne and Mercedes top the Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ standings at the season’s mid-point.

FIA Formula E

Mortara (Venturi/Michelin) takes Marrakech win

Saturday’s Marrakech E-Prix was won by Edoardo Mortara after an assertive display that was aided by the consistency and longevity of his MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tires. The Venturi/Michelin driver was joined on the podium by Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) and Mitch Evans (Jaguar/Michelin).

In contrast to the championship’s January 2019 visit to Morocco when the thermometer dipped as low as 5°C, the air and track temperatures for this year’s Marrakech E-Prix C reached 32°C and more than 50°C respectively.

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV took the challenging conditions in its stride, however, performing all the way to the flag to provide the drivers with the confidence they needed to push hard in their personal battles up and down the order.

After qualifying second on the grid, Mortara claimed his third win of the campaign and his 10th in total to go to the top of the provisional Drivers’ leaderboard and help RoKit Venturi Racing take the lead in the Constructors’ standings.

The Swiss driver and his Monegasque team handled their two Attack Mode periods well before holding on under pressure from DS Techeetah’s pole-winner da Costa and Jean-Eric Vergne who took a penalty following an early tangle with Oliver Rowland (Mahindra Racing/Michelin). Da Costa’s his late bid to topple Mortara was thwarted.

Evans clinched third in the dying moments to split the DS Techeetah pair, while Lucas di Grassi (RoKit Venturi Racing) deprived Nyck de Vries (Mercedes EQ FE Team/Michelin) of fifth. The former championship pacesetter Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team/Michelin) started from 20th to finish eighth.

The next round of the 2022 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship will take teams to Brooklyn, New York, USA, for two races on July 16-17.

Marrakech E-Prix – final positions:
1. Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing), 34 laps
2. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), +2.297s
3. Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), +6.270s
4. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), +6.985s
5. Lucas di Grassi (RoKit Venturi Racing), +7.787s
6. Etc.

Michelin’s sustainable racing tire makes Goodwood appearance

After attending early-June’s Le Mans 24 Hours, Michelin’s new racing tire made from 53 percent sustainable materials was out again at the Goodwood Festival of Speed (June 23-26) on both the fuel-cell electric H24 prototype and the Porsche GT4 ePerformance which was making its maiden public airing.


MotoGP™: more Michelin records tumble as Bagnaia wins at Assen

Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) returned to his winning ways with victory at the Motul TT Assen, Round 11 of the 2022 MotoGPTM World Championship. Second and third were Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) and Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) who made it three different bikemakers and the same number of MICHELIN Power Slicks pairings on the podium. The French tires reveled in the weekend’s changeable conditions to establish new track-lap, race-lap and shortest-distance benchmarks for the Dutch venue.  


MotoGP™: Quartararo’s Germany tire gamble pays dividends!

Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) claimed his second MotoGPTM victory in a row when the 2022 World Championship traveled to the Sachsenring for Round 10 – the Liqui Moly Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland. The defending champion’s decision to run the medium MICHELIN Power Slick at the rear in spite of the hot weather paid off handsomely, helping him to finish five seconds clear of Johann Zarco (2nd, Prima Pramac Racing) and Jack Miller (3rd, Ducati Lenovo Team).  

24H du Mans

Michelin and Toyota: 30 years of success in world-class motorsport

Since Toyota’s first major victory on Michelin tires in 1992, the two automobile industry giants have worked side-by-side in several forms of topflight motorsport, from world-class endurance racing and rallying, to Formula 1 and Japan’s benchmark Super GT series. This year, they clocked up their fifth straight victory together in the Le Mans 24 Hours.

More about Michelin Motorsport

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup