Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso takes Malaysia win!

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) collected his sixth success of the year with victory at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) came second to notch up Ducati’s first one-two finish of the season, while Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was third. Fourth place for Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) means the fight for the 2017 crown will be decided in Valence. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso grabs Austria success

The NeroGiardini Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich, Round 11 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship, saw Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) claim his third win of the season. The Italian was follow over the line at the Red Bull Ring by Repsol Honda Team’s Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa.


Dovizioso and Marquez produced a thrilling scrap in Austria where the Ducati rider – running on medium- and soft-compound MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear – took revenge by a margin of just 176-thousandths of a second after being defeated by his then team-mate Andrea Iannone by six-tenths at the same venue last year!

Dovizioso lined up second on the grid behind Marquez but fell back a slot when third-placed Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) leapfrogged into the lead.

With 11 laps completed, Marquez – running on a combination of medium and hard MICHELIN Power Slicks – took control as Dovizioso tucked into the Spaniard’s slipstream. The two riders then traded top spot several times until Dovizioso succeeded in holding off his rival through the ultimate turn to earn the fifth victory of his MotoGP career.

Pedrosa’s consistent run was rewarded with third place and his 110th podium finish in bike racing’s premier series.

Lorenzo ended up fourth, chased by the best-placed independent team rider Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3) who posted a new race lap record of 1m24.312s.

Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), Alvaro Bautista (Pull&Bear Aspar Team), Loris Baz (Reale Avintia Racing) and wildcard entry Mika Kallio (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) rounded out the afternoon’s top 10.

Dovizioso’s triumph has taken him to second in the provisional standings on 158 points, behind Marquez (174). Viñales (150) has dropped to third but is nine points clear of Yamaha team-mate Rossi.

Next round: British Grand Prix, Silverstone (August 25-27).


Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


One-two glory for Toyota/Michelin in Fuji downpour

In a repeat scenario of 2013, this year’s 6 Hours of Fuji – round seven of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship – was marked by torrential rain. The appalling weather didn’t prevent the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped TS050 Hybrids from monopolising the top two positions, however, while the N°51 Ferrari/Michelin came up trumps in LM GTE Pro.


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 


Porsche and Michelin triumph in Texan heat

Porsche Team collected its third consecutive one-two finish in the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship when Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley took the win at Austin, Texas, USA, in the N°2 919 Hybrid, ahead of the similar car of Jani/Lotterer/Tandy. The N°51 Ferrari 488 GTE/Michelin of Calado/Per Guidi won the LM GTE class.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development