MotoGP™: Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team/Michelin) takes Sepang spoils

The Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, penultimate round of the 2018 MotoGPTM Word Championship, was won by Marc Márquez. The recently-crowned champion was joined on the Sepang podium by Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR/Michelin) and Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3/Michelin). The result settled the Manufacturers’ title chase in favour of Honda.  


MotoGP™ - Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix - Racecard

Everything you ever wanted to know about the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix and our tyre allocation.Clic on the photo to donwload the racecard


MotoGP™: Lorenzo (Ducati Team/Michelin) on top again in Catalunya

The Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya, Round 7 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship at Barcelona-Catalunya, was won by Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team/Michelin). The race produced the Majorcan’s second victory in a row for Ducati, ahead of the championship pace-setter Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team/Michelin) and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP/Michelin).


Just as he did at Mugello, Lorenzo was in dominant form in Catalonia where he claimed his first pole position with Ducati. Despite being caught napping through the race’s first turn by both Marquez and Andrea Iannone (Team Suzuki Ecstar), his decision to run soft-compound MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear soon helped him to take the lead before lapping like clockwork for 24 laps on his way the 46th victory of his career.

The championship leader Marquez, who was on hard MICHELIN Power Slicks, was quickly outdistanced, although he still succeeded in crossing the line in second place.

Meanwhile, Rossi (soft MICHELIN Power Slicks) followed up podium finishes in Qatar, France and Italy with his fourth top-three result of the year from seven starts to emerge as Marquez’ closest threat in the 2018 title chase.

Briton Cal Crutchlow (medium and soft MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear) ended up just shy of the podium and as the best independent team rider with LCR Honda Castrol. Fifth was Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) who chose medium MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear.

Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3), Danilo Petrucci (Alma Pramac Racing), Alvaro Bautista (Angel Nieto Team) and Andrea Iannone (Team Suzuki Ecstar) rounded out the top 10. That said, only 14 riders reached the finish, with just 13 completing the distance on the same lap as the day’s winner. None of the race’s five rookies made it to the chequered flag.

Six of the seven tyre specifications available in Catalonia were used. Thirteen riders opted for soft MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear, including the winner Lorenzo. Marquez came second on hard MICHELIN Power Slicks all-round and Crutchlow was fourth on a combination of medium and soft MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear. Pedrosa was fifth on medium MICHELIN Power Slicks.

Marquez (115 points) has extended his lead at the top of the provisional championship standings, ahead of Rossi (88) and Viñales (77).

Tyre choice

Tyre choice

Next round: Motul TT Assen, Netherlands (June 29-July 1).


Loeb, Citroën and Michelin return to their winning ways!

More than five years after his most recent WRC success, Sébastien Loeb (Citroën/Michelin) notched up the 79th world class win of his career this weekend in Spain. The Frenchman was chased over the line by Sébastien Ogier, who has recovered the championship lead, and the latter’s Ford/Michelin team-mate Elfyn Evans. The Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ titles will be settled in Australia.  


RallyRACC Catalunya - Rally de España - Racecard

Everything you ever wanted to know about the RallyRACC Catalunya - Rally de España with our racecard. Clic on the photo to download it.

FIA Formula E

FIA Formula E: Michelin and the Gen2 cars in action at Valencia

Formula E’s latest-generation, all-electric, Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped ‘Gen2’ single-seaters were in action this week at Valencia, Spain, where an official test was organised to allow teams to prepare for the 2018/2019 championship’s opening clash in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, on December 15.


One-two success at home for Toyota!

Toyota Gazoo Racing took a predictable win at Fuji Speedway, Japan, on Sunday. Top prize went to the N°7 TS050 Hybrid/Michelin of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez, while Buemi/Nakajima/Alonso (N°8) made it a one-two finish for the Japanese squad on home soil. Porsche/Michelin came first in both LM GTE classes. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


2017 Records