MotoGP™: Márquez (Repsol Honda Team / Michelin), King of the ‘Ring

The 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship’s trip to Germany saw Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team/Michelin) collect his ninth straight win at the Sachsenring and his sixth there in motorcycle racing’s premier series, all from pole position. The Spaniard was joined on the Pramac Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland podium by Movistar Yamaha MotoGP/Michelin’s Valentino Rossi and Maverick Viñales. 


MotoGP™ - Pramac Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the  Pramac Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland with our racecardClic on the photo to download it


MotoGP™: Marquez and Repsol Honda Team/Michelin win incredible Motul TT Assen

Marc Marquez claimed his fourth victory of the year at the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship’s eighth clash at Assen, Netherlands. The Spaniard was joined on the podium by Alex Rins (Ecstar Suzuki Team/Michelin) and Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP/Michelin) after the season’s most exciting race to date.


2018 08 GP Assen 00445

Six different riders representing four bikemakers took turns at the top of the Motul TT Assen leaderboard to keep spectators enthralled all the way to the chequered flag.

Lap 1 saw pole-winner Marquez (medium and soft MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear) lose command to Jorge Lorenzo but the reigning champion then led for the next two laps before falling back and relinquishing top spot to his Ducati Team/Michelin rival (soft and hard MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear).

The Majorcan, who won the championship’s recent visits to Mugello and Barcelona, remained in control up to the 14th of the afternoon’s 26 laps but eventually succumbed to the pressure exerted by Marquez, Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin), Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP/Michelin), Viñales and Rins.

With the exception of the latter, the leading pack traded the lead several times before Marquez emerged in first place for good with four laps to go. He then took advantage of the scrap for the other podium places to pull clear and secure his fourth success of the campaign.

Rins squeezed Viñales out of second spot through the final turn to notch up his second top-three finish of 2018, while the Yamaha rider held on to third place to beat Dovizioso and Rossi.

Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda/Michelin), Lorenzo, Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3/ Michelin), Alvaro Bautista (Angel Nieto Team/Michelin) and Jack Miller (Alma Pramac Racing/Michelin) rounded out the top 10.

The top 15 finishers were blanketed by just 16.043 seconds, the closest result in MotoGPTM history.

Four of the six available tyre specifications were selected for the race. Eleven riders, including Rins, opted for medium and hard MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear, while eight others – including Marquez and Viñales - chose a medium front and soft rear. Lorenzo started on a soft front and hard rear.

Marquez has naturally gone even further clear at the top of the provisional points table on 140 points, ahead of Rossi (99) and Viñales (93).

Tyre choice

tyre choice

Next round: German Grand Prix, Sachsenring (July 13-15, 2018).

FIA Formula E

Vergne and Audi Sport secure 2017/2018 titles with Michelin

The New York City E-Prix saw Jean-Eric Vergne and Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler/Michelin claim the 2017/2018 FIA ABB Formula E Drivers’ and Teams’ titles. Season 5 will kick off in Riyad, Saudi Arabia, on December 15 when the championship’s new-generation all-electric single-seaters will race for the first time on equally new Michelin tyres.

FIA Formula E

ABB Formula E - New York ePrix - Racecard

All you need to kown about the New York ePrix with our racecard.Clic on the photo to download it.

Volkswagen and Michelin establish new Pikes Peak record!

After collecting four WRC Manufacturers’ titles together, Volkswagen and Michelin returned to their winning ways on Sunday with victory at the celebrated Pikes Peak International Hill Climb in Colorado, USA. Frenchman Romain Dumas posted a new record for the course in the German make’s exciting I.D R full-electric prototype.

24H du Mans

Toyota/Michelin tastes Le Mans glory at last!

Toyota will be partying hard tonight after winning the famous Le Mans 24 Hours for the first time since its debut attempt at the world famous race in 1985. This time around, Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and the team’s star recruit Fernando Alonso delivered the necessary speed and reliability in their N°8 TS050-Hybrid/Michelin to spearhead a one-two finish for the Japanese carmaker, ahead of the N°7 sister car (+2 laps). Porsche/Michelin celebrated no-nonsense wins in LM GTE Pro and Am, while G-Drive Racing was unassailable in LMP2 with the N°26 Oreca07. True to its ‘Winning performance to the line’ claim, Michelin secured its 21st straight Le Mans success.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development