MotoE: Ferrari claims inaugural Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup

Fifth place at the last round of the 2019 Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup sufficed for Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) to become the new competition’s first champion. The weekend’s two races were won by pole-winner Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing). 


MotoGP™: Márquez wraps up 2019 with home success

The Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana was won by Spaniard Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team). Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha Petronas SRT) was second, while Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) made it three different bikemakers on the podium. All three riders chose the same tyre combination for the 19th and last round of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship.  


MotoGP™: Márquez claims unchallenged win at Aragon

The 2019 Gran Premio Michelin® de Aragon – Round 14 of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) by a margin of almost five seconds over Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team). Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) was third. Márquez could settle this year’s title chase in Thailand in two weeks’ time.


Márquez hit the ground running at the Gran Premio Michelin® de Aragon to top the order in Free Practice 1, a full 1.6 seconds quicker than the rest of the field. Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) were fastest in sessions two and three but couldn’t prevent the Honda rider from claiming his seventh qualifying victory of the season.

Racing on medium- and soft-compound MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear, Márquez got away cleanly at lights-out and immediately set a blistering pace, positing his fastest race lap on the second of the afternoon’s 23 laps. By the midway point, he was more than five seconds clear and a fast, consistent second half helped him to celebrate his 200th grand prix start with his eighth victory of the campaign.

Competing on the same tyre combination as the day’s winner, Dovizioso had qualified 10th on the grid but a gutsy display saw him slice his way up the order in the race. By half-distance, he was up to fourth, and he went on to pick off Miller and Viñales on Laps 15 and 21 to take the flag in second spot, practically five seconds back.

Miller robbed Viñales of third place on the last lap, while Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) was fifth.

Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda), Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini), Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP), Rins and Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda) rounded out the top 10.


Four of the six tyre options provided by Michelin were used in Spain. All the riders with the exception of Mika Kallio (hard) went for the medium front MICHELIN Power Slick which they combined with either a soft or hard rear.

The MICHELIN Power Rain made two appearances, for Saturday morning’s Free Practice 3 and Sunday’s warm-up run.

The podium ceremonies in every class saw Michelin present personalised 3D-printed titanium trophies. These prizes were designed especially for the Aragon grand prix and were made by Poly-Shape which is already active in motorsport. Poly-Shape is a subsidiary of the French group AddUp, a leader in the world of 3D metal additive manufacturing and co-owned by Michelin.

2019 14 GP Aragon 00281

Today’s result has taken Márquez 98 points clear of Dovizioso at the top of the provisional Riders’ standings. The Spaniard will make sure of the 2019 title if he succeeds in earning two more points than his rival in Thailand. Rins (+144 points) is third.

Next race: PTT Thailand Grand Prix, Buriram (October 4-6).


Twenty-nine champions for FIA endurance racing Hall of Fame

After creating Halls of Fame for its Formula 1 and Rally World Championships, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has now added an endurance racing section at its Paris headquarters. Twenty-nine champions were inducted at a special ceremony on Monday evening (December 2). It was organised in association with Michelin, a long-time major player in the discipline.

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Britons rule at 2019/2020 curtain raiser in Saudi Arabia

Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin) and Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) took the two wins at the opening meeting of the 2019/2020 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia. Michelin has been the official tyre supplier to the FIA’s all-electric racing series since its creation in 2014.


Citroën and Michelin: a winning combination in the WRC

Citroën has announced its intention to curtail its involvement in the FIA World Rally Championship. Together, the French car firm and Michelin have harvested five Manufacturers’ titles, four Drivers’ crowns, 58 world-class wins and 150 podium finishes.


Rally Australia cancellation hands WRC crown to Hyundai, with Michelin*

Raging fires in New South Wales have forced Rally Australia’s organisers to cancel the curtain-closing round of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship. Their decision has handed this season’s Manufacturers’ title to Hyundai which has earned Michelin’s 56th WRC crown in the process. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018