MotoGP: Marquez in control at the Sachsenring

Since the start of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has failed to go two consecutive races without winning. This weekend, true to form, the Spaniard bounced back from his Netherlands defeat to score an assertive victory at Germany’s Sachsenring where he was joined on the podium by Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol).


MotoGP™ - HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, 9th round of the MotoGP championshipClic on the photo to download the racecard.


MotoGP: Marquez on his momentum, as Quartararo claims maiden MotoGP podium!

The 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship pace-setter Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) extended his lead in the provisional standings by winning the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya at Barcelona-Catalunya. French youngster Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT), 20, collected his first podium finish, ahead of Mission Winnow Ducati’s Danilo Petrucci.


Premier-class motorcycle racing’s youngest ever pole-winner Quartararo failed to capitalise on his qualifying exploit when he was caught napping at lights-out by Andrea Dovizioso (Mission Winnow Ducati) who led into the first right-hander, chased by Marquez.

A tangle involving the Spaniard and the Frenchman then relegated the latter to ninth spot, while Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) took advantage of the situation to appear in second place. Lap 2 saw Jorge Lorenzo (Repsol Honda Team) make a mistake under braking and his subsequent fall took out Dovizioso, Viñales and Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) at the same time.

As the pack struggled to find some sort of cohesion, Marquez (hard and soft MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear) took control to pull away from Petrucci and Quartararo, before going comfortably clear of his pursuers.

The championship leader went on to finish clear of Quartararo and Mugello victor Petrucci.

Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) finished just shy of the top-three, ahead of Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) who fought back from 14th place! Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar), Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) rounded out the afternoon’s top eight, followed by Tito Rabat (Realee Avintia Racing Ducati) and Johann Zarco (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing).

Six tyre combinations were used in Catalonia, with the top four riders notably opting for four different permutations… Marquez: hard and soft MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear / Quartararo: soft and medium front and rear / Petrucci: softs front and rear / Alex Rins: mediums front and rear!


The result sees Marquez (140 points) widen the gap at the top of the provisional Riders’ standings, ahead of Dovizioso (103) and Rins (101).

Next round: Motul TT Assen, Netherlands (June 28-30, 2019).

FIA Formula E

Vergne scores second straight Formula E crown!

DS Techeetah/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne emerged from the 2019 New York City E-Prix as the first driver in Formula E history to claim the title twice. The Frenchman successfully defended his 2017/2018 crown after the weekend’s doubleheader meeting in New York City, USA, which produced wins for Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). DS Techeetah/Michelin is Season 5’s Teams’ champion.

The Nürburgring 24 Hours delivers all-Michelin podium

Michelin runners monopolised the top three places at this year’s Nürburgring 24 Hours with three different carmakers. The top prize went to the Phoenix-run N°4 Audi R8 LMS of Kaffer/Stippler/Vervisch/Vanthoor, ahead of the N°911 Porsche 911 GT3-R (Manthey Racing, Bamber/Estre/Christensen/Vanthoor) and N°3 Mercedes-AMG GT3 (Black Falcon, Buhk/Haupt/Jaeger/Stolz). 

FIA Formula E

Formula E success for Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) in Bern

Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) followed up victory in qualifying for the Bern E-Prix with a flag-to-flag win that has extended his lead in the Drivers’ standings ahead of the 2018/2019 FIA Formula E Championship’s two-race finale in New York. The Frenchman was followed over the line in Switzerland by Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams) and André Lotterer (DS Techeetah).

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - 2019 Julius Baer Swiss E-Prix - Racecard

All you ever wanted to know about the Bern E-Prix.Click on the photo to download the racecard.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018