Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso takes Malaysia win!

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) collected his sixth success of the year with victory at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) came second to notch up Ducati’s first one-two finish of the season, while Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was third. Fourth place for Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) means the fight for the 2017 crown will be decided in Valence. 


MotoGP: Marquez wins rainy Misano clash

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) won the Tribul Mastercard GP S. Marino e Riviera di Rimini (Round 13 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship) which was marked by wet weather. Danilo Petrucci (Octo Pramac Racing) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) were second and third respectively.

Extremely wet conditions led all 23 riders to choose soft-compound MICHELIN Power Rain tyres for the start which saw Jorge Lorenzo leap into the lead from fifth on the grid, chased by Marquez and Dovizioso. The Ducati rider held on until a mistake six laps into the race.

Top spot was inherited by Petrucci who had moved up to second. He held firm but was ultimately passed by Marquez last time round when the defending champ posted the day’s fastest race lap to clinch his fourth win of the season.

Dovizioso’s cautious run was rewarded with third place and his first podium finish at Misano.  

Pole-sitter Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) failed to challenge for the win and had to settle for fourth, ahead of Ducati test rider and wild-card entry Michele Pirro (Ducati Team).

Jack Miller (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) was sixth, chased by Scott Redding (Octo Pramac Racing).

Alex Rins (8th, Team Suzuki Ecstar) claimed his best MotoGP result to date, with Jonas Folger (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Bradley Smith (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) finishing ninth and tenth. Johann Zarco (15th, Monster Yamaha Tech 3) pocketed a point despite running out of fuel just short of the chequered flag.

Marquez and Dovizioso (199 points) are now equal top in the provisional Riders’ standings. Viñales (187) is third and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) is still fourth despite not racing this weekend.

Next round: Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón, Spain (September 22-24).


Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


One-two glory for Toyota/Michelin in Fuji downpour

In a repeat scenario of 2013, this year’s 6 Hours of Fuji – round seven of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship – was marked by torrential rain. The appalling weather didn’t prevent the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped TS050 Hybrids from monopolising the top two positions, however, while the N°51 Ferrari/Michelin came up trumps in LM GTE Pro.


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 


Porsche and Michelin triumph in Texan heat

Porsche Team collected its third consecutive one-two finish in the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship when Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley took the win at Austin, Texas, USA, in the N°2 919 Hybrid, ahead of the similar car of Jani/Lotterer/Tandy. The N°51 Ferrari 488 GTE/Michelin of Calado/Per Guidi won the LM GTE class.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development