Citroën and Michelin: a winning combination in the WRC

Citroën has announced its intention to curtail its involvement in the FIA World Rally Championship. Together, the French car firm and Michelin have harvested five Manufacturers’ titles, four Drivers’ crowns, 58 world-class wins and 150 podium finishes.


Rally Australia cancellation hands WRC crown to Hyundai, with Michelin*

Raging fires in New South Wales have forced Rally Australia’s organisers to cancel the curtain-closing round of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship. Their decision has handed this season’s Manufacturers’ title to Hyundai which has earned Michelin’s 56th WRC crown in the process. 


Museum honours for motorsport’s 2019 champs!

In association with Michelin, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) held its annual prizegiving gala at the famous Louvre Museum in Paris, France, on Friday, December 6. Many of the champions who were presented trophies won their respective titles on Michelin rubber.

Estonians Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja – who topped the year’s WRC standings to stem 15 years of French domination of world class rallying – were joined on stage by silver medallists Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (five-time vice-champions) and bronze winners Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia.

The Korean make Hyundai, which has competed on Michelin tyres ever since its WRC debut 20 years ago, was presented with the 2019 Manufacturers’ crown in the presence of its crews Neuville/Gilsoul, Mikkelsen/Jaeger, Sordo/Del Barrio, Loeb/Elena and Breen/Nagle.

Finn Kalle Rovanperä, Frenchman Pierre-Louis Loubet and their respective co-drivers Jonne Halttunen and Vincent Landais lifted the WRC2-Pro and WRC2 trophies, and Britons Chris Ingram/Ross Whittock won the 2019 FIA European Rally Championship laurels, also on Michelin tyres.

Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne was presented with his second Formula E title (2018/2019), while his employer DS Techeetah topped the Teams’ points table. Formula E will become a full-fledged FIA-sanctioned world championship from 2020/2021.


World Endurance Championship trophies were handed to Michelin partners Toyota and Porsche who won the 2018/2019 LMP and LMGTE Manufacturers’ titles respectively, with the top Drivers’ prizes in the two classes going to Fernando Alonso/Kazuki Nakajima/Sébastien Buemi and Kevin Estre/Michael Christensen. Alonso has now won three world titles on Michelin tyres.

In the course of the ceremony, FIA president Jean Todt paid tribute to the motorsport personalities who left us in 2019, including Niki Lauda, Jean-Luc Thérier, Andrew Cowan and Jean-Paul Driot who all achieved success with Michelin in the course of their exceptional careers.


Twenty-nine champions for FIA endurance racing Hall of Fame

After creating Halls of Fame for its Formula 1 and Rally World Championships, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has now added an endurance racing section at its Paris headquarters. Twenty-nine champions were inducted at a special ceremony on Monday evening (December 2). It was organised in association with Michelin, a long-time major player in the discipline.

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Britons rule at 2019/2020 curtain raiser in Saudi Arabia

Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin) and Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) took the two wins at the opening meeting of the 2019/2020 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia. Michelin has been the official tyre supplier to the FIA’s all-electric racing series since its creation in 2014.


MotoE: Ferrari claims inaugural Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup

Fifth place at the last round of the 2019 Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup sufficed for Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) to become the new competition’s first champion. The weekend’s two races were won by pole-winner Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing). 


MotoGP™: Márquez wraps up 2019 with home success

The Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana was won by Spaniard Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team). Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha Petronas SRT) was second, while Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) made it three different bikemakers on the podium. All three riders chose the same tyre combination for the 19th and last round of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018