One-two glory for Toyota/Michelin in Fuji downpour

In a repeat scenario of 2013, this year’s 6 Hours of Fuji – round seven of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship – was marked by torrential rain. The appalling weather didn’t prevent the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped TS050 Hybrids from monopolising the top two positions, however, while the N°51 Ferrari/Michelin came up trumps in LM GTE Pro.


Porsche and Michelin triumph in Texan heat

Porsche Team collected its third consecutive one-two finish in the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship when Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley took the win at Austin, Texas, USA, in the N°2 919 Hybrid, ahead of the similar car of Jani/Lotterer/Tandy. The N°51 Ferrari 488 GTE/Michelin of Calado/Per Guidi won the LM GTE class.


New look for world class endurance racing

Created in 2012, the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) is to undergo significant changes from next season when the series will straddle two calendar years (2018/2019) and conclude with the 2019 Le Mans 24 Hours. The LMP1 cars will run to new technical regulations. As a participant in the FIA WEC since the outset, Michelin approves the latest moves.



The idea of staging Le Mans as the WEC’s grand finale has been muted for some time by the competition’s organisers (FIA and Automobile Club de l’Ouest) and the transitional eight-round 2018/2019 campaign will last 18 months. If the provisional dates are approved by the FIA, the championship will start at Spa-Francorchamps in May 2018 and end at Le Mans in June 2019. As a result, both races will count twice!

From 2019/2020, the calendar will revert to a more conventional format, much like Formula E.

“Five years ago, Michelin worked with its partner teams, the ACO and the FIA to shape the original WEC,” notes Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon. “Michelin shares the values promoted by endurance racing, including open competition, innovation, sacrifice and team spirit, and we are in favour of the decisions taken by the ACO and the FIA to revitalise the championship.”

The 2018/2019 FIA WEC will get under way where the series originally kicked off back in March 2012, at Sebring, Florida, where the action will start at midnight! Fuji (Japan) and Shanghai (China) continue to feature, while the pre-season Prologue will return to Le Castellet, in the south of France. A new timetable will enable teams to carry out a 36-hour test as part of their preparations for Le Mans.

In the wake of the recent withdrawals of Audi and Porsche, the ACO and FIA also propose new technical regulations for the LMP1 prototypes aimed at reducing costs and aligning the performance of the hybrid and non-hybrid cars. “For Michelin, endurance racing serves as a formidable laboratory that helps us to carry over technologies from the race track to the street,” adds Pascal Couasnon. “Our goal is to continue developing tyres in the discipline, notably in LMP1.”

Michelin has won all 46 of the FIA WEC rounds organised to date, in association with three different carmakers and 27 different drivers.

Provisional 2018/2019 FIA WEC calendar

April 5-6                                  Prologue (Le Castellet, France)
May 4-5                                  6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
June 16-17                            Le Mans 24 Hours (France)
October 13-14                        6 Hours of Fuji (Japan)
November 3-4                        6 Hours of Shanghai (China)
February 2019                        TBC
March 15-16                           12 Hours of Sebring (USA)
May 3-4                                  6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
June 15-16                            Le Mans 24 Hours (France)


Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso takes Malaysia win!

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) collected his sixth success of the year with victory at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) came second to notch up Ducati’s first one-two finish of the season, while Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was third. Fourth place for Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) means the fight for the 2017 crown will be decided in Valence. 


MotoGP: Marquez to wrap up title in Malaysia?

The 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship concludes its autumn long-haul tour with the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix (Round 17 of 18). Marc Marquez travels to Sepang with a 33-point cushion at the top of the provisional standings and could well collect his fourth premier class crown this weekend. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development