The FIA inaugurates rallying Hall of Fame

To coincide with the 40th anniversary of the Drivers’ World Rally Championship (created in 1979), the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has inaugurated a bespoke rallying Hall of Fame in Paris, France. Michelin was a partner of the official induction ceremony. 


Ogier clinches Citroën’s 100th WRC victory!

Exactly 10 years after their maiden Monte Carlo victory, Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia finished on top in the Principality for the seventh time to chalk up Citroën’s 100th WRC win (72 on Groupe Michelin tyres) and kick off the brand’s 100th anniversary celebrations in style. The French pair was joined on the Monaco podium by Thierry Neuville (2nd, Hyundai/Michelin) and Ott Tänak (3rd, Toyota/Michelin). Michelin claimed a one-two finish in the WRC2 class, too, with Gus Greensmith (Ford/Michelin) and Yoann Bonato (Citroën/Michelin).


The 2019 WRC gets official send-off

The 47th FIA World Rally Championship was officially launched to the backdrop of Autosport International 2019 in Birmingham, England, on Saturday afternoon (January 12).


The organisers of the annual motorsport extravaganza expected a turnout of around 10,000 and visitors were treated to a parade by the WRC’s drivers in the company of the Michelin Man through the show’s halls before the cars were revealed in their 2019 liveries.

Ford-MSport’s Evans/Martin and Suninen/Salminen kicked off proceedings by unveiling the latest Ford Fiesta RS WRC which has reverted to the blue colour scheme seen during the 2016 championship. They were imitated by Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Tänak/Järveoja, Latvala/Anttila and Meeke/Marshall who presented the Yaris WRC, last season’s Manufacturers’ title-winning car.

Hyundai Motorsport’s new recruit Sébastien Loeb wasn’t able to attend due to his participation in the 2019 Dakar, but Neuville/Gilsoul, Mikkelsen/Jaeger and Sordo/Del Barrio were on hand to introduce the Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC which has a practically unchanged livery in 2019.

Last up were six-time world champions Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia who were joined by Finns Lappi/ Ferm to show off the Citroën C3 WRC which features the Red Bull branding the team ran from 2008 to 2012. A ‘1919’ logo at the rear of the car referred to the French make’s centenary celebrations.

With the exception of Ogier, who will continue to run as N°1, the drivers were asked to pick their competition numbers for 2019. Evans has opted for N°33, Neuville has gone for N°11 and Latvala has plumped for N°10. Meeke’s daughter chose N°5 for her dad, while Mikkelsen will took N°89, the year of his birth.

The presentation was followed by a series of interviews which were a new experience for Hyundai Motorsport’s newly-appointed Team Principal Andrea Adamo and Richard Millener who has taken over the same role from Malcolm Wilson at MSport.

Everyone will now reconvene in Gap, France, for the 2019 Rallye Monte-Carlo which will kick off the 14-round 2019 FIA World Rally Championship on January 24-27.

FIA Formula E

Sam Bird takes Santiago win

Round 3 of the 2018/2019 FIA ABB Formula E Championship in Santiago, Chile, was won by Great Britain’s Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). German drivers Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing/Michelin) and Daniel Abt (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler/Michelin) were second and third.  


Michelin and its partnership with North American endurance racing

Starting with the Rolex 24 at Daytona 24 Hour race and in a multi-year agreement, Michelin will be the Official Tire of IMSA. The partnership includes not only the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, but also two other major IMSA-sanctioned series, the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge and the IMSA Prototype Challenge. What benefits does this association bring Michelin?    

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - Santiago - Racecard

All you need to know about the Santiago E-Prix. Click on the photo to download the racecard.

2019 Dakar: 18th straight win for KTM and Michelin

Three years after his maiden Dakar success, Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Team/ Michelin) finished on top again to earn Michelin’s 36th victory on the cross-country classic, as well as KTM’s 18th on the trot in association with the French tyre firm. The Australian finished clear of his team-mate and last year’s victor Matthias Walkner, while Sam Sunderland (Red Bull KTM Factory Team/Michelin) made it an all-KTM/Michelin top three.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018