FIA WEC - 6 Heures de Spa - Raceguide

The FIA World Endurance Championship is back with the 6 Hours of Spa.Download our raceguide to know everything about the race and the Michelin tyres.


Grand-slam glory for Michelin in Texas

The Lone Star Le Mans (Round 5 of the 2019/2020 FIA World Endurance Championship) at the Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas, was won by the Michelin Pilot Sport Endurance-equipped Rebellion R13 of Bruno Senna, Gustavo Menezes and Norman Nato. Michelin cars also topped the order in LMP2 (N°22 Oreca07-Gibson), LMGTE Pro (N°95 Aston Martin) and LMGTE Am (N°90 Aston Martin).


Toyota and Michelin finish 1st and 2nd at Spa-Francorchamps

The 2020 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps saw the two Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids come first and second in Belgium in the hands of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez (N°7) and Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley (N°8). Showery weather made getting tyre strategies spot-on particularly vital but also highlighted the quality of the range provided by Michelin for the return of FIA WEC action.

Heavy rain fell moments before the start of the 2020 6 Hours Spa-Francorchamps – which was run behind closed doors due to the Covid-19 pandemic – and the race’s first four hours took place in a mix of showers and brighter intervals that made tyre choice particularly complex.

An hour after lights-out, Mike Conway (Toyota 7) took advantage of his first refuelling stop to switch to Michelin Pilot Sport Endurance slicks, but Sébastien Buemi (Toyota 8) stayed out on wets before pitting a second time just laps afterwards to imitate his British team-mate.

The combination of this additional stop and electronics gremlins prevented the N°8 car from challenging for the win, leaving Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez to take the afternoon’s top prize. Despite qualifying on pole, the N°1 Rebellion/Michelin was unable to match the pace of the Japanese four-wheel drive prototypes in the rain but succeeded in joining them on the podium after posting the fastest race lap.

At the race’s midpoint, a fierce battle raged between the six LMGTE Pro cars which, between them, were running all of the different Michelin tyres available for Spa at this stage, namely wets (N°92 Porsche, N°97 Aston Martin and N°71 Ferrari), intermediates (N°95 Aston Martin) and slicks (N°91 Porsche and N°51 Ferrari)! The win ended up going to Christensen/Estre in the N°92 Porsche/Michelin which was followed over the line by the two Aston Martin Vantages.

In LMP2, the N°29 Oreca overcame the handicap of starting from the back of the grid to ease past the similar N°22 prototype and take the lead after the first round of pit stops when both cars stayed on the same set of rain tyres for a second stint. The latter part of the race, however, panned out in favour of the United Autosports car (N°22, Hanson/Albuquerque/Di Resta) which has now gone unbeaten since last December. The N°36 Alpine lost all chance of a top result due to a crash at Blanchimont. The LMP2 class allows open competition between tyre brands, but Michelin’s partners had a clear edge in the delicate conditions that marked the race’s early stages.

The LMGTE Am class was won by the N°83 Ferrari/Michelin (Perrodo/Collard/Nielsen) which rounded out Michelin’s grand slam day in Belgium where the firm’s partners topped all four classes, an encouraging sign ahead of the fast-approaching Le Mans 24 Hours on September 19-20.

6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps – Final positions:
1. Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez (Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin) (1st, LMP1), 143 laps
2. Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley (Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin), +34.170s
3. Senna/Menezes/Nato (Rebellion R13/Michelin), +1 lap
4. Hanson/Albuquerque/Di Resta (Oreca-Gibson/Michelin) (1st, LMP2), +3 laps
5. Lapierre/Borga/Coigny (Oreca-Gibson/Michelin), +4 laps
6. Van Eerd/Van der Garde/Van Uitert (Oreca-Gibson/Michelin), +4 laps
7. Gonzalez/Da Costa/Davidson (Oreca-Gibson), +4 laps
8. Patterson/Yamahshita/Fjordback (Oreca-Gibson/Michelin), +5 laps
9. Lacorte/Belicchi/Serragiotto (Dalla-Gibson/Michelin), +6 laps
10. Christensen/Estre (Porsche/Michelin (1st, LMGTE Pro), +7 laps


Michelin wins WRC’s 600th round with Tänak and Hyundai

Reigning world champion Ott Tänak steered his Michelin LTX Force-equipped Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC to victory on home soil at Rally Estonia on Sunday. Irishman Craig Breen made it a one-two finish for Hyundai, while Sébastien Ogier (Toyota) rounded out the weekend’s all-Michelin top-three.


MotoGP: Oliveira wins bike racing’s 900th GP!

A dramatic last lap at Austria’s Red Bull Ring saw Miguel Oliveira clinch the first MotoGPTM win of his career, plus that of his team Red Bull KTM Tech 3. The Portuguese rider was joined on the podium of the BMW M Grand Prix of Styria (Round 6 of the 2020 MotoGPTM World Championship) by Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Racing). Premier class motorcycle racing’s 900th clash produced Michelin’s 438th grand prix victory, while Oliveira is the fourth different rider to have won a race this season and the 53rd to have taken the spoils on Michelin rubber. 


MotoGP™: Ducati extends unbeaten Red Bull Ring record

The myWorld Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich – which was interrupted due to a spectacular crash involving Johann Zarco (Esponsorama Racing) and Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) – was won by Andrea Dovizioso. The Ducati Team rider was joined on the podium of the 2020 MotoGPTM World Championship’s fifth round by Joan Mir (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) and Jack Miller (Pramac Racing). The top-three finishers at Austria’s Red Bull Ring all ran different tyre pairings to provide further evidence of the MICHELIN Power Slick’s versatility.  

FIA Formula E

A Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin one-two wraps up 2019/2020 Formula E campaign

Formula E’s Season 6 concluded with a 69th win for the championship’s founding partner Michelin. The last of six races in Berlin saw Stoffel Vandoorne head a Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin one-two after Antonio Felix da Costa and DS Techeetah had secured the all-electric series’ Drivers’ and Constructors’ crowns with two rounds remaining.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup