Grand-slam glory for Michelin in Texas

The Lone Star Le Mans (Round 5 of the 2019/2020 FIA World Endurance Championship) at the Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas, was won by the Michelin Pilot Sport Endurance-equipped Rebellion R13 of Bruno Senna, Gustavo Menezes and Norman Nato. Michelin cars also topped the order in LMP2 (N°22 Oreca07-Gibson), LMGTE Pro (N°95 Aston Martin) and LMGTE Am (N°90 Aston Martin).


Toyota/Michelin claim 1st and 2nd places in Bahrain

Toyota Gazoo Racing dominated the last FIA WEC race of the year to collect first and second places in Bahrain with the N°7 (Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez) and N°8 (Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley) Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids. The French tyre firm topped the order in the other three classes, too, with the N°22 United Autosports Oreca-Gibson (LMP2), N°95 Aston Martin (LMGTE Pro) and N°57 Porsche (LMGTE Am).


Twenty-nine champions for FIA endurance racing Hall of Fame

After creating Halls of Fame for its Formula 1 and Rally World Championships, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has now added an endurance racing section at its Paris headquarters. Twenty-nine champions were inducted at a special ceremony on Monday evening (December 2). It was organised in association with Michelin, a long-time major player in the discipline.

In 2017, 33 Formula 1 drivers were inducted into the FIA’s first Hall of Fame. In January of this year, they were joined by 17 WRC champions and, last night, 29 endurance racing stars were added to the list.

“Endurance racing has always had a special place in motorsport, as well as in my heart,” said the FIA president and former Peugeot Sport team boss Jean Todt. “The Sportscar World Championship for Drivers was created in 1981. There was a short period when it wasn’t organised, but its future looks particularly bright today.”

After a short video covering the discipline in the 1980s, the FIA Endurance Commission’s president Richard Mille handed the first of the night’s special awards to Bob Garretson, the sport’s inaugural world champion. “Back then, we were amateurs – we just went out to race and did the best we could,” he recalled.


The American was followed onto the stage by Hans-Joachim Stuck, Raul Boesel, Martin Brundle and Mauro Baldi, then by Yannick Dalmas and Derek Warwick who shared the 1992 title driving a Peugeot 905/Michelin.

Next up were the two-time champions, beginning with Jacky Ickx who paid tribute to the mechanics, engineers and all those who work in the shadows, without whom champions would never be champions. Derek Bell and the 1989 champ Jean-Louis Schlesser – winner of nine races for Sauber-Mercedes/Michelin – were then presented with their awards.

The second part of the evening was given over to those drivers who have been crowned in the more recent FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC). Marcel Fässler/André Lotterer/Benoît Tréluyer, Loïc Duval/Allan McNish/Tom Kristensen, Anthony Davidson, Mark Webber, Yannick Dumas/Neel Jani/Marc Lieb, Earl Bamber and Kazuki Nakajima were all invited to receive their commemorative prizes, followed by two-time WEC champion Sébastien Buemi and then Brendon Hartley/Timo Bernhard who notched up 23 podium finishes together with Porsche/Michelin.


Last to receive his award was Fernando Alonso who became the first driver to be inducted into two different FIA Halls of Fame (F1 and endurance racing). “I have always been a fan of endurance racing and Le Mans. Kazuki, Sébastien and Toyota helped me to make a dream come true.”

Michelin won 24 races and four titles during the years the Sportscar World Championship was organised and has so far picked up 61 victories and 14 titles in the FIA WEC, not to mention its 28 Le Mans wins.


MotoGP™: back-to-back Jerez glory for Quartararo

Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) picked where he left off at Jerez, Spain, last week to collect his second win of the year at the Gran Premio Red Bull de Andalucía. The second round of the 2020 MotoGPTM saw Yamaha monopolise the podium thanks to Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales and Valentino Rossi who came second and third. The grip and consistency of the MICHELIN Power Slick contributed to the establishment of a new lap record for the Spanish venue. 


MotoGP™: Quartararo’s big day in the Jerez sun

The Gran Premio Red Bull de Espana, opening round of the 2020 MotoGPTM World Championship, saw Petronas Yamaha SRT’s Fabio Quartararo celebrate his maiden topflight motorcycle racing victory after finishing clear of Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP). Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) was third as Michelin’s tyres combined grip with consistency throughout the three-day meeting.


MotoGP™ - Gran Premio Red Bull de España - Raceguide

The Michelin MotoGP Team is thrilled to officially restart the 2020 MotoGP World Championship this week. After more than four months of waiting, our tyres and especially, our new rear MICHELIN Power Slick, are more than ready to set new records.Before the action gets started, download our raceguide.

Michelin set to return to the FIM Endurance World Championship

Michelin is pleased to announce that it will be returning to the FIM Endurance World Championship (FIM EWC) when racing resumes after the interruption forced by the Covid-19 pandemic. Its first outing will consequently be the 24 Heures Moto at Le Mans, France, at the end of August. Michelin plans to use its involvement in the FIM EWC to reaffirm its role as a leading player in motorcycle endurance racing which permits open competition between tyre brands.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup