FIA Formula E

Dennis and di Grassi in ExCeLlent form in London

Briton Jake Dennis (Avalanche Andretti Formula E) and Brazil’s Lucas di Grassi (RoKit Venturi Racing) took advantage of the performance and longevity of Michelin’s Pilot Sport EV Formula E tire to win the two London E-Prix, while Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team) took a step closer to the 2022 title. 

FIA Formula E

Cassidy and Da Costa on top in the Big Apple

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV helped Nick Cassidy (Envision Racing) and Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah) to claim the season’s two New York City E-Prix in mixed weather.  

FIA Formula E

Vandoorne and Mercedes seal Formula E’s 2021/2002 titles at Michelin’s 100th e-prix

A founding partner of the FIA Formula E Championship since the latter’s inaugural season in 2014/2015, Michelin contested its 100th e-prix this weekend in Seoul. The South Korean double-header saw it help Belgium’s Stoffel Vandoorne and Mercedes EQ Formula E Team to the current campaign’s Drivers’ and Constructors’ crowns.

Michelin’s first Formula E outing took place at Beijing’s Olympic stadium in September 2014, and its last was held at the Olympic stadium in Seoul. The 2021/2022 finale also served as backdrop for the 100th appearance of the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV which was conceived specifically for the all-electric series.

From the beginning, Michelin provided the teams and drivers with a revolutionary new solution: the first designed for 18-inch single-seater wheels, the first capable of competing in dry and wet conditions alike and motorsport’s first-ever connected tire. It is now also available in a version for high-performance electric cars.

There have been three different generations of the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV which was engineered from the outset to combine energy efficiency, longevity and consistency, all the time keeping apace with the performance of Formula E’s increasingly competitive cars.

In the course of its career, it has performed at an exceptional variety of venues, from ad-hoc street circuits to permanent racetracks, on both low-wearing and highly abrasive surfaces, in pouring rain and with ground temperatures in excess of 50°C, earning the trust of all of the 76 drivers who have contested the championship.


Season 8 concluded with victories for Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing) in Race 1 (marked by a long red-flag interruption caused by a huge tangle) and Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) the next day.


Former F1 driver Vandoorne clinched the Drivers’ title in South Korea, while his employer Mercedes EQ Formula E Team secured the year’s top Constructors’ prize.

Seven different drivers (Piquet Jr., Buemi, Di Grassi, Vergne, Da Costa, De Vries, Vandoorne) and four different constructors (Renault, Audi, DS, Mercedes) have now claimed Formula E crowns, while 23 different drivers have taken at least one race win on MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tires.

Seoul E-Prix 1 – Final positions:

  1. Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), 30 laps
  2. Oliver Rowland (Mahindra Racing), +0.820s
  3. Lucas di Grassi (RoKit Venturi Racing), +1.393s
  4. Jake Dennis (Avalanche Andretti Racing), +1.902s
  5. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team), +2.470s


Seoul E-Prix 2 – Final positions:

  1. Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing), 34 laps
  2. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team), +3.756s
  3. Jake Dennis (Avalanche Andretti Racing), +6.649s
  4. Robin Frijns (Envision Racing), +7.021s
  5. Oliver Askew (Avalanche Andretti Racing), +7.850s



MotoGP™: Bagnaia on top as more records tumble for Michelin at Silverstone

The Monster Energy British Grand Prix, Round 12 of the 2022 World Championship, marked the return of MotoGPTM action after the summer break. Michelin hit the ground running to contribute to new fastest lap, fastest race-lap and shortest race-duration records for Silverstone with tree different riders and provide yet another illustration of the MICHELIN Power range’s outstanding versatility. Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) picked up the day’s win, ahead of Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing Team) and Jack Miller (Ducati Lenovo Team). 


Alpine and Michelin victorious at Monza

Bouncing back from a challenging Le Mans 24 Hours, the Michelin-shod Alpine A480 shared by Nicolas Lapierre, Matthieu Vaxivière and André Negrão returned to its winning ways at the 6 Hours of Monza today (July 10). The French outfit beat the two similarly-tired Toyota GR010 Hybrid entries to the top step of the podium. On its eagerly-anticipated return to endurance racing, Peugeot showcased its potential on Michelin rubber. The N°64 Michelin-equipped Corvette prevailed in LMGTE Pro, with the N°77 Michelin-tired Porsche taking top spot in LMGTE Am.

Michelin’s sustainable racing tire makes Goodwood appearance

After attending early-June’s Le Mans 24 Hours, Michelin’s new racing tire made from 53 percent sustainable materials was out again at the Goodwood Festival of Speed (June 23-26) on both the fuel-cell electric H24 prototype and the Porsche GT4 ePerformance which was making its maiden public airing.


MotoGP™: more Michelin records tumble as Bagnaia wins at Assen

Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) returned to his winning ways with victory at the Motul TT Assen, Round 11 of the 2022 MotoGPTM World Championship. Second and third were Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) and Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) who made it three different bikemakers and the same number of MICHELIN Power Slicks pairings on the podium. The French tires reveled in the weekend’s changeable conditions to establish new track-lap, race-lap and shortest-distance benchmarks for the Dutch venue.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup